Contact Information

General Enquiries: 01865 987 222
Box Office: 01865 980 980
Email: [email protected]

Book Tickets

Past event - We are no longer taking bookings for this event.

Stephen Kovacevich

25 Apr 2022 | 19:30 | Sheldonian Theatre, Broad Street

Fanny Mendelssohn Overture in C major* Side-by-Side
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K. 491
Haydn Mass No. 11 in D minor, Hob. XXII:11, ‘Nelson Mass’

Stephen Kovacevich piano 
Cayenna Ponchione-Bailey conductor*
Samantha Clarke soprano 
Catherine Wyn-Rogers mezzo-soprano
Joshua Ellicott tenor 
Dominic Sedgwick bass
Choir of Keble College
Paul Brough
Marios Papadopoulos conductor 

Nothing can beat Mozart at his most inspired. Riding high in 1786, with an adoring public who lapped up his piano concertos, the composer delivered a concerto in C minor that felt entirely new in its tragic mood and throbbing tensions. Now we recognise this work’s advanced argument, rich counterpoint and introspective mood as things of wonder. Our old friend and true statesman of the piano Stephen Kovacevich plays the concerto here after a slice of pure sunshine from Fanny Mendelssohn. Keble College’s chapel choir, flourishing under Paul Brough, joins the Orchestra and four distinguished soloists for a performance of Haydn’s exuberant and perfectly formed mass in celebration of the ‘saviour of Europe’ following his defeat of Napoleon in 1798, Admiral Lord Nelson.

Stephen Kovacevich

25 Apr 2022

Tickets: £18, £30, £40, £54
(Students from £5)
Duration: 130 min
Venue: Sheldonian Theatre, Broad Street