Beethoven and his Colleagues IV

Saturday, 27 November 2021 - 19:30
Beethoven and  his Colleagues IV


About the event

Holywell Music Room

Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 4 in A minor, Op. 23

Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 12 No. 3

Grand Duo for Violin and Viola, Op. 12 No. 3

Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 9 in A major, Op. 47, ‘Kreutzer’ 

Natalia Lomeiko violin
Yuri Zhislin violin/viola
Sasha Grynyuk piano

The Beethoven and his Colleagues Series, interrupted by the pandemic, resumes with performances by Oxford Philharmonic principals Natalia Lomeiko and Yuri Zhislin. Beethoven’s ‘Kreutzer’ sonata has to be heard to be believed, and can only be heard once a violinist has confounded the notion that this devilish score is ‘impossible to play’, as Rodolphe Kreutzer declared. This sonata is full of new techniques, bursting with unbridled fury and pitting violin and piano against one another in a perpetual struggle, for which we welcome the fitting skills of Natalia Lomeiko and Sasha Grynyuk. They also give us the pent-up energy of the sonata that paved the way for the ‘Kreutzer’ (No. 4), while Yuri Zhislin plays Beethoven’s deeply personal No. 3. The two string players are united for a miniature gem by Alessandro Rolla.

Tickets: £30 (students £5)

You may also like

Handel's Messiah

Handel's Messiah

Thursday, 16 December 2021