Chevalier de Saint-Georges & Mozart II ONLINE

Thursday, 14 October 2021 - 19:30
Chevalier de Saint-Georges & Mozart II ONLINE


About the event

Divertimento in B flat major, K. 137

Symphonie Concertante in G major, Op. 13 No. 2

Clarinet Concerto in A major, K. 622

Michael Collins clarinet
Shlomy Dobrinsky violin
Katerina Nazarova violin

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

In the mid-1760s the child prodigy Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart took Paris by storm, but at the end of the same decade, Parisians witnessed the rise of another virtuoso, the violinist Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges. The illegitimate son of a wealthy planter and one of his slaves, born in the French colony of Guadeloupe, Joseph first came to prominence as a champion fencer. But it was as a musician that he left a greater legacy, as a soloist and concertmaster in Paris and as one of the first known classical composers of African origin.

This series of two concerts pairs the works of the two composers, who were shaped by similar musical traditions but radically different backgrounds. This second concert begins with Mozart’s Divertimento in B flat major which is followed by Chevalier de Saint-Georges’s Symphonie Concertante in G major, a fine example of a genre which he pioneered. The concert concludes with Mozart’s sublime Clarinet Concerto.

Reserve your free ticket to receive the link to watch the concert directly to your inbox shortly before the event begins. 

This concert will be available to watch online until 14 January 2022.

You may also like

Sorry, no related events to display.