Nicola Benedetti & Lawrence Power play Mozart

Sunday, 23 May 2021 - 19:30
Nicola Benedetti & Lawrence Power play Mozart


About the event

This concert is part of our Digital Series, and will premiere on YouTube before becoming available on-demand. Book a free ticket to receive the link directly by email shortly before the concert!

Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K. 219
Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E flat major, K. 364

Nicola Benedetti Violin
Lawrence Power Viola

Scottish violin star Nicola Benedetti joins the Oxford Philharmonic for an energised performance of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5, also known as the ‘Turkish’. Written in 1775 when the composer was aged just 19, his unique voice and writing style is already apparent, particularly in the main theme of the first movement.

For the second piece in the concer, Benedetti is joined by violist Lawrence Power for Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante – the composer’s most successful work in the genre bridging the symphony and concerto styles.

The concert will be streamed for free on the Orchestra’s YouTube Channel and will be available for 28 days. Reserve a free ticket in order to receive the link directly via email.

This concert was made possible by a grant from the Culture Recovery Fund via Arts Council England, and was filmed by Apple and Biscuit Recordings at the Sheldonian Theatre.

HFC Logo Black

Tickets: Free

You may also like

Sorry, no related events to display.