Sheku Kanneh-Mason in Cheltenham Town Hall

Thursday, 31 October 2019 - 19:30


Cheltenham Town Hall

About the event

Overture to L'Italiana in Algeri * 

Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33

A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 21 

Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21

Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Hannah Schneider conductor*

Sheku Kanneh-Mason, star cellist and 2016 BBC Young Musician of the Year, is a player just as intelligent, sophisticated and enchanting as Saint-Saëns’s first cello concerto. He makes his debut with the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra at this Cheltenham Town Hall concert which includes another young talent to watch: Assistant Conductor Hannah Schneider, who takes the Orchestra through one of Rossini’s most mischievous and excitable overtures. Marking 250 years since the birth of Beethoven, Marios Papadopulos rounds off this delectable musical menu with the composer’s charming first symphony. 

Pre-concert Talk 18:30

With Marios Papadopoulos.
Free admission

The concert is scheduled to end at approximately 21:50

Tickets: £33.50 £28.50 £17.50 £13.50

You may also like

Angela Gheorghiu

Angela Gheorghiu

Sunday, 28 June 2020

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]