Lisa Batiashvili

Friday, 17 January 2020 - 19:30


Sheldonian Theatre

About the event


Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D. 759, ‘Unfinished’


Violin Concerto


Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98 

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Prompted by the death of a child, Alban Berg wrote his tender Violin Concerto ‘to the memory of an angel’. The piece is poised magically between two worlds – rich and worldly, ethereal and mysterious. To play it, we welcome a debut artist of rare integrity and imagination, Lisa Batiashvili. After Berg’s tender concerto and the tantalising torso of Schubert’s ‘Unfinished’ symphony, we hear a Brahms symphony in which private feelings are given public expression. The composer’s fourth may be a structural riddle, but is one in which radiant harmonies and Apollonian perfection shine through.

The concert is scheduled to end at approximately 21:45

Tickets: £38.00 £28.00 £18.00

You may also like

Maxim Vengerov Violin Masterclass

Maxim Vengerov Violin Masterclass

Friday, 1 May 2020

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]