Yefim Bronfman

Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 19:30


Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford

About the event

Overture to Die Ruinen von Athen, Op. 113

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 19

Symphony No. 3 in G minor, Op. 36

Yefim Bronfman piano

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

To those who asked where the symphony could go after Beethoven, Louise Farrenc offered the most striking of answers. Her third symphony of 1847 is a masterpiece of symphonic design and emotional power, a work of feverish wildness, songful intensity and filigree beauty. Before it, we hear from Beethoven himself, courtesy of a giant among pianists Yefim Bronfman. He returns to the Orchestra following his debut in 2017 for the concerto by Beethoven that sees the composer at his most composed.

This concert is scheduled to end at approximately 9:20 pm.

Tickets: £45 £35 £25 £15

You may also like

Composers' Q & A with Krzysztof

Composers' Q & A with Krzysztof

Sunday, 19 May 2019

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]