The Mastery of Mozart in Cheltenham

Saturday, 23 February 2019 - 19:30
389670153-Marios 1.jpg


Cheltenham Town Hall, Cheltenham

About the event

Serenade No. 6 in D major, K. 239, 'Serenata notturna'

Piano Concerto No. 27 in B flat major, K. 595

Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466

Marios Papadopoulos piano/conductor

On 4 March 1791, Mozart gave his last public performance. Nine months and one day later, he was dead. Those present at that performance might have sensed a farewell from the piano concerto Mozart played his last, numbered 27. Gone was the overt drama of the composer's earlier concerto in D minor, No. 20. Gone were the orchestra's trumpets and drums. In their place was a work of deep resignation and subdued gravity. Directing from the keyboard, Marios Papadopoulos and the Orchestra present a rare opportunity to hear Mozart's most moving piano concerto alongside one of his most thrilling.

Pre-concert Talk 6.30pm

Featuring Marios Papadopoulos

Free admission with ticket

Tickets: £33.50 £28.50 £17.50 £13.50

You may also like

Korngold & Tchaikovsky

Korngold & Tchaikovsky

Wednesday, 6 March 2019

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]