Chamber Series I

Sunday, 24 January 2016 - 15:00


T.S Eliot Theatre, Oxford

About the event

SOLD OUT: returns only on 01865 980 980

BEETHOVEN Violin Sonata No. 9 in A major, Op. 47, 'Kreutzer'
PROKOFIEV Cello Sonata in C major, Op. 119
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 131

The Soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic
Natalia Lomeiko violin
Mats Lidström cello

Declared impossible to play by its dedicatee, Beethoven’s ‘Kreutzer’ Sonata is a pinnacle of its genre, demanding musical and technical assurance of the highest order. Solo Cellist Mats Lidström performs Prokofiev’s warmly expressive Cello Sonata, a work with which the composer won over the 1949 Soviet authorities. Timeless in their artistic identity and architecturally revolutionary, Beethoven’s late string quartets have astounded ever since their inception – the Quartet in C sharp minor is a colossal musical statement that continues to transcend contemporary boundaries.

(Includes interval tea and biscuits)

Supported by Elizabeth and David Ure and Celia and Andrew Curran

Tickets: £20

You may also like

Sorry, no related events to display.

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]