Summer Serenade

Saturday, 11 July 2020 - 19:30
930491248-Natalia 2.jpg


Merton College Chapel, Oxford

About the event


Serenade for Strings in E major, Op. 25


Violin Concerto in D minor, MWV O3


La vallée a rejoint la nuit


Serenade for Strings in E flat major, Op. 6

Natalia Lomeiko violin

Kypros Markou conductor

Dvořák knew his star pupil and son-in-law Josef Suk would write something wondrous, if only he could be persuaded to move away from dark minor keys. In 1892, Suk delivered his Serenade for Strings, a work whose spontaneous lyricism and emotional depth took even his teacher by surprise. After American Arthur Foote’s own warming Serenade, our Concertmaster Natalia Lomeiko and conductor Kypros Markou introduce an atmospheric work by the Greek composer Athanasía Tzánou and take on Mendelssohn’s lesser-known Violin Concerto in D minor. Written when the composer was just 13 years old, this work of extraordinary maturity shows why Mendelssohn is considered one of history’s greatest musical prodigies.

The concert is scheduled to end at approximately 21:55


Tuesday 3 September, 11:00 
Priority booking for Patrons, and multi-buy purchases of 10+ concerts

Thursday 5 September, 11:00 
Priority booking for Friends, and multi-buy purchases of 5+ concerts

Friday 6 September, 11:00 
General booking

Priority booking for multi-buy purchases by telephone only. 

Tickets: £45.00 £35.00 £20.00 £15.00

You may also like

Oxford Beethoven Festival: Symphony & Concerto Cycle III

Oxford Beethoven Festival: Symphony & Concerto Cycle III

Thursday, 13 February 2020

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]