Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 19:30


Sheldonian Theatre

About the event


Finlandia, Op. 26

Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47

Symphony No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 82

Anna-Liisa Bezrodny violin

Douglas Boyd conductor

Depressed, broke and ill, Jean Sibelius walked onto his veranda one day and saw a flock of 16 swans taking flight over the lake. ‘One of the greatest moments of my life,’ Sibelius wrote in his diary, ‘legato in the trumpets.’ The swans gave Sibelius the main theme for his fifth symphony. In its final movement, and against the odds, they ascend and disappear – nature transcending the agony of life. Douglas Boyd makes his Oxford Philharmonic debut in this concert giving exclusive voice to the fire-and-ice world of Finland’s great composer, opening with his stirring hymn Finlandia and including our own Associate Concertmaster Anna-Liisa Bezrodny in his virtuosic Violin Concerto.

The concert is scheduled to end at approximately 21:35

Tickets: £35.00 £25.00 £15.00

You may also like

Oxford Beethoven Festival: Beethoven & his Colleagues Recital III

Oxford Beethoven Festival: Beethoven & his Colleagues Recital III

Saturday, 7 March 2020

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]