Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Saturday, 2 November 2019 - 19:30


Oxford Town Hall, Oxford

About the event


A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 21 


Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33


Overture to L'Italiana in Algeri *


Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90, ‘Italian’

Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Hannah Schneider conductor*

Sheku Kanneh-Mason, star cellist and 2016 BBC Young Musician of the Year, is a player just as intelligent, sophisticated and enchanting as Saint-Saëns’s first cello concerto. He makes his debut with the Orchestra at this Oxford Town Hall concert which includes another young talent to watch: Assistant Conductor Hannah Schneider, who takes the Orchestra through one of Rossini’s most mischievous and excitable overtures. In a concert bookended by Mendelssohn, Marios Papadopoulos finishes with the composer’s vivacious, inspired symphonic postcard from Italy.

The concert is scheduled to end at approximately 21:50


Tuesday 3 September, 11:00 
Priority booking for Patrons, and multi-buy purchases of 10+ concerts

Thursday 5 September, 11:00 
Priority booking for Friends, and multi-buy purchases of 5+ concerts

Friday 6 September, 11:00 
General booking

Priority booking for multi-buy purchases by telephone only. 

Tickets: £45.00 £35.00 £25.00 £15.00

You may also like

Intimate Letters

Intimate Letters

Sunday, 19 January 2020

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]