Boris Berezovsky Piano Recital

Sunday, 28 July 2019 - 20:00


Oxford Town Hall, Oxford

About the event

At the request of the Artist this recital programme has been changed from the one which was originally published.

Preludio from Partita for Violin No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006 (transcr. Rachmaninov)

Scherzo from A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 61 (transcr. Rachmaninov)

‘Wohin?’ from Die schöne Müllerin, D. 795

Liebeslied (transcr. Rachmaninov)

Lullaby, Op. 16 No. 1 (transcr. Rachmaninov)

Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 36

Deux poèmes, Op. 32

Sonata No. 4 in F sharp major, Op. 30

Fragilité, Op. 51 No. 1

Caresse dansée, Op. 57 No. 2

Désir, Op. 57 No. 1

Sonata No. 5, Op. 53

Trois études, Op. 65

Study in D flat major after Op. 10 No.1 (for left hand alone)

Study in E flat minor after Chopin’s Op. 10 No. 6 (for left hand alone)

Study in C sharp minor after Chopin’s Op. 10 No. 12 (for left hand alone)

Boris Berezovksy makes his festival debut in the first of our solo recitals. Berezovsky, the quintessential Russian pianist known for his wedding of poetry and power, performs a varied programme including transcriptions by Rachmaninov of popular works by other composers, as well as his magnificent Piano Sonata No. 2, a work as tempestuous as it is heartfelt. After his own personal selection of Scriabin, Berezovsky ends the recital with three Godowsky studies for left hand, based on Chopin’s Etudes. A not-to-be-missed festival highlight at Oxford Town Hall.

The concert is scheduled to end at approximately 10 pm.


Tickets: £25 £20 £15 £10

You may also like

Steven Osborne Masterclass

Steven Osborne Masterclass

Friday, 2 August 2019

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]