Hungarian Treasures

Sunday, 20 January 2019 - 15:00


T.S Eliot Theatre

About the event

String Quartet No. 2, Op. 10

Piano Quintet No. 2 in E flat minor, Op. 26

String Quartet No. 5 in B flat major, BB 110

The Soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic
Martin Roscoe piano

Pianist Martin Roscoe joins soloists of the Orchestra for a journey through scintillating Hungarian chamber works of the early twentieth century. Zoltan Kodaly wrote his String Quartet No. 2 as the Great War tore through Europe; the work journeys from introspection to discussion to eventual wildness. After the final twist from somberness to radiance of Ernst von Dohnanyi's hearty Piano Quintet No. 2, we finish with Bela Bartok's masterpiece of symmetry and savagery, his helter-skelter String Quartet No. 5.

Supported by Elizabeth & David Ure and Celia & Andrew Curran

Tickets: Tickets £25 (students £5)

You may also like

Yefim Bronfman

Yefim Bronfman

Tuesday, 30 April 2019

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]