Vilde Frang & Lawrence Power

Saturday, 9 February 2019 - 19:30


Sheldonian Theatre

About the event

Symphony No. 35 in D major, K. 385, 'Haffner'

Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E flat major, K. 364

Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551, 'Jupiter'

Vilde Frang violin
Lawrence Power viola

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Mozart might not have known that the 'Jupiter' symphony would become his last, but it's difficult to imagine how he could have followed a work of such scale, majesty and intensity. In between the symphony that set Mozart on a joyous and liberating new course and his final utterance in symphonic form, soloists Vilde Frang and Lawrence Power bring us a piece in which we catch a glimpse of the composer’s soul – the 'double concerto' for violin and viola that feels presciently lined with tragedy.

Tickets: £45 £35 £25 £15 (students from £5)

You may also like

The Ghosts of War

The Ghosts of War

Saturday, 1 June 2019

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]