Narek Hakhnazaryan

Saturday, 6 October 2018 - 19:30
635765614-Narek 2.jpg


Sheldonian Theatre

About the event

Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104

Into The Void * (world premiere)

Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88

Narek Hakhnazaryan €‚cello

Hannah Schneider €‚conductor*

Marios Papadopoulos €‚conductor

One of Dvorak's colleagues described his eighth symphony as '˜a work singing of the joy of green pastures, of summer evenings, of the melancholy of blue forests, of the defiant merry-making of the Czech peasants'™. Music Director Marios Papadopoulos conducts it here in this celebratory season opening brimming with '˜firsts'. Narek Hakhnazaryan makes his Oxford Philharmonic debut in Dvorak's magical cello concerto. Richard English's Into The Void gets its first concert performance after being selected in last season's Composers' Workshop, conducted here by Rhodes Scholar Hannah Schneider, who conducts the Orchestra for the first time.

Tickets: £45 £35 £25 £15 (students from £5)

You may also like

Brandenburg Concertos

Brandenburg Concertos

Saturday, 6 July 2019

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]