Seeker of Truth

Saturday, 9 June 2018 - 19:30


Holywell Music Room, Oxford

About the event

Prelude. Le jardin à Giverny
Seeker of Truth -A piano fantasy
Cinq Préludes à la mémoire de Frédéric Chopin
Dix Valses Enigmatiques

Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 15

The Soloists of the Oxford Philharmonic
Russell Hirshfield piano

Internationally acclaimed American pianist Russell Hirshfield is recognised as a leading exponent of piano music by 20th century composers Messiaen and Ligeti - both of whom saw music as a medium to transcend the confines of this world and offer a glimpse of the eternal. These composers were major influences on contemporary Belgian composer Piet Swerts (b. 1960) who was commissioned by Hirshfield to write Dix Valses Enigmatiques. The first piano quartet of Gabriel Fauré was written in 1883 and has a refreshing modernity and musical language that is unmistakably French.

Concert ends at approx 9.20pm.

Tickets: £20.00

You may also like

Anne Queffélec Piano Recital

Anne Queffélec Piano Recital

Monday, 30 July 2018

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
London office
29a Teignmouth Road,
London NW2 4EB

Box Office 01865 980 980

General Inquiries 01865 987 222
[email protected]